My rock…

When I first started this blog, I thought it would be best to keep the boyfriend fiancé incognito. You see, I met a boy named Chan a gazillion years ago in junior high school. Something about him intrigued me. Every time I saw him, I would get this sick feeling in my stomach and my efforts to say hi were dismissed with him blatantly turning and walking the complete opposite way. I mean really… who does that?? Evidently 8th grade boys :) Don’t worry, we haven’t been dating since junior high school… that would be nauseatingly cute.

I think it’s officially time to introduce you to him. I’m done with vagueness and trying to make sure I didn’t mention any specifics. He is, after all, going to officially be a huge part of my life.  He proposed back December and to this day, I still can’t believe it. Me. Astami T. Is getting married?!?!? Eeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!! I also have finally come to terms with the word fiancé.  Chan… you are no longer my boyfriend, you’re my fiancé haha! He proposed at 4am in the morning with a simple “wanna marry me” on Christmas morning and though we’ve been dating for a number of years, it took me by total surprise. Needless to say, I said “yes.”

You see, he and I had an interesting start to the relationship and I think it’s why I think we’ve grown so close. I ran into Chan at a volleyball tournament in the summer before going to college. Seeing as he would be dorming in New Jersey and I was going to Baruch College in the city, we both assumed this would just be a summer fling. We cherished each moment as if it were the last and had a blast no matter where we were and what we were doing. Fall semester passed by and we thought “okay… maybe another semester?” A bunch of years later and here we are. I love him. Truly. Madly. Deeply… (yeah, that’s right… I quoted Savage Garden).

So to my fiancé, my friend, my stubborn-as-a-rock other half…. thank you for your undying loyalty, your cute dimple, your tolerance of my excitement, and most of all… your awesome hugs. I heart you. A whole lot…

In other news, I’ve just come back from a trip to Indonesia. I didn’t want to talk about this earlier because we weren’t so sure if our plans would work out but now it seems more and more closer to coming true… if all goes as planned, we’ll be getting married in Bali next year! I’m super excited and scared at the same time. I have total OCD when it comes to planning and not being able to control the party planning first hand, kind of makes me nervous.  There will be talk of wedding planning but with a jammed packed schedule, this upcoming summer looks like there will still be plenty of photography and all that jazz to discuss.

Happy beginning of summer nyc

sigh... heaven.

3 thoughts on “My rock…

Leave a Reply

