Gym… I hate you. No, I love you. Bah… whatever

The gym and I have a love hate relationship. I love that it kicks my butt and I love that when I go, I feel fantastic. There’s just one thing… it’s getting there. I don’t want a gym in my house, that idea sounds terrible. I just want something to get me back in the rhythm of working out. Ah… to dream. Today was one of those days (that now has diminished to a measly once a week) where I went to the gym. It felt damn good and I was reminded once again that I need to do this more often. I jumped scarily tippied toed on to the scale and did my thang… 139?!? That’s no bueno. Just one month ago, I was at a satisfactory 130 and was working toward the golden goal of 120. Alas, the working stopped and the 9 pounds crept back on. While I realize that’s I am not entirely overweight per say, it is most certainly not my ideal weight. One doesn’t necessarily need an excuse to change their ways and live healthily however, considering an upcoming trip to the tropics, a trip to Vegas with my homeslices, and oh… a wedding next year in Bali, I need to start right here, right now. Given the recent swelling in the left side of jaw, I didn’t run today. There’s no sense in pushing your body when it’s just meant to be. Tomorrow however… oh, tomorrow is a new day. My goal tomorrow is not much. Just to get my legs, lungs, and cadence back into running mode. I thought it’d be cool to share my playlist:

  1. 1901 by Phoenix
  2. Beat It by Michael Jackson
  3. Bad Romance by Lady Gaga
  4. When Your Heart Stops Beating by +44   <- how appropriate
  5. Livin’ On A Prayer by Bon Jovi
  6. Make Her Say ft. Kanye West & Common by Kid Cudi
  7. Meet Me Halfway by the Black Eyed Peas

Only 7 songs you say? With a warm up and a cool down, that’s 28.3 minutes of holy torture to start me off on the right track. Look, planning is 25% of the battle and getting to the gym is another 50% , the rest is actually doing it. My clothes are all setup so I have no excuse.

Here’s to wishing everyone a happy and healthy week.

One thought on “Gym… I hate you. No, I love you. Bah… whatever

  1. I am having the same problem right now. It needs to be a perfect storm for me to be able to get to the gym, but these days it seems like I am just going out of my way to get back in shape. You should sign up for some 5k runs or bike runs. That will help motivate you.

Leave a Reply

