The continuation… Bali.

I love Bali.

I love Bali.

I love Bali.

As we sat in Jimbaran, enjoying the array of seafood grilled over dried coconuts, fresh coconut, and the cool of the sand between our toes, I pondered aloud on the idea of living in Bali. Chan threw a look at me

Chan: Would you be able to get any work done?!?

Me: Totally!

Chan: Really?

Me: Umm… maybe?

Until I develop some sort of super power to help me focus on my work flow and develop immunity from getting distracted by all that this island has to offer, I suppose I’ll stay in New York City……… for now.

Bali is that place that when you see it, it tends to leave a permanent imprint in your brain. The smell, the sounds, the sights… all tickling your five senses. I didn’t want to smoosh my earlier post of the foods and people of Java in fear of having a post that is too long so here’s part two….

Just thought this was funny
the Vespa... Indonesia's preferred version of the swagger wagon.
Serves the best fried duck you'll ever have.

Bringing offering to the afternoon ceremony
My cousin Arsyi wearing a sarong. When entering a temple, both male and female must wear a sarong as a sign of respect.
My cousins Arsyi and Sandi
Chan and Sandy overlooking the cliff at Uluwatu.
The temple is in the midst of one of the many monkey forests.
Tari Kecak... a traditional dance.
I loved the little boy. He was in training and totally keeping up with the adults!
At warung Made... a must when going to Bali!
Nasi goreng... amazing fried rice. Amazing...

And because my friend ria (who doesn’t believe in capital letters) totally scolded me for not helping her with her already maddening craving for some good Indonesian grub, here’s a list of Indonesian restaurants in NYC:

Upi Jaya… ***though pricier than others, this one is my favorite.

7604 Woodside Avenue, Elmhurst, NY‎ – (718) 458-1807

Mie Jakarta…

86-20 Whitney Avenue, Elmhurst, NY‎ – (718) 606-8025‎

Java Indonesian Restaurant…

455 7th Avenue Brooklyn, NY 11215-5512 (718) 832-4583 ***I’ve never been here but I did promise Julia that we would go soon. Expect a review coming up!

Bali Nusa Indah… ***Another favorite of mine.

651 9th Ave, New York, NY 10036 (212) 974-1875

And though I know this next one isn’t in NYC, I love it so much that I needed to share. This is for my west coast peeps…

Borobudur Restaurant…

700 Post Street San Francisco, CA 94109-6106 (415) 775-1512

Enjoy your lunch!

2 Replies to “The continuation… Bali.”

Leave a Reply

