Wishful thinking

Last week, Chan and I had one of our regular drives over to Jersey. Date night plans of having a nice dinner would have to be postponed due to the sudden downpour, monstrous winds, and strikes of light. Sure the change of weather was a tad unexpected but we were okay. We pulled up to the driveway and were so thankful we had the car. I remember hearing a bell chiming sound and thought nothing of it. Chan exited the car and went to the back seat to get his bag and then I hear “Oh shitttttt.” He hardly ever cusses unlike me and my pirate-like mouth so I got scared. When I asked him what happened, he said a dog had come running at him. I must admit, I should’ve been scared. I should’ve thought the worst. Rabid dog on the loose… be careful! But no, the little voice inside me kept thinking this poor dog must be terrified what with the lightning and all. So I opened my door and whistled. Nothing. Whistled again and I hear the bell and the sound of the wet paws coming my way very quickly. For .00079th of a second, I think oh crap but the rest of the time, I thought YAY! A doggy!!! I gave him my hand to sniff and then… he sat down. His tail was wagging but you could tell the poor dog was petrified. I petted the dog and noticed he was a pitbull. I want a pitbull. Chan saw it in my eyes. Sometimes I hate that he can read my mind. He gave me this look and I said Fine. I looked at his collar and sure enough, there was an address. We returned him to his owner because as much as I’d want a dog who was so cute, so sweet, and so loving, I knew that I’d die if I ever lost my dog and never saw him again. So back home he went and I said bye.

When we got inside the house and settled down, Chan said Soon. And that’s when I read his mind. I knew he was thinking we will have a dog soon, just not yet. When the time is right, he and I will share our home with a dog, whatever kind it may be, and he”ll be awesome.  We’ll get to have fun with him, and spend our lazy Sundays with him, but for now, we’ll just enjoy the fact that we don’t have to worry about who’s going to doggysit and why my left favorite strappy sandal’s heel is now a chew toy. All that will have to wait…

Oh, and this is when I’m happy that we can read each other’s minds.

But for now, it’s back to the grind. It’s rainy outside but that’s totally okay. Why complain about the weather when this past weekend was spectacular. I had a family shoot and an engagement session in Long Beach and Mr. Autumn decided he’d fall back let some Summer stay for just one more day. The result was a shoot I can’t wait to show off. I’ll post them soon but for now… stay dry nyc.

-astami

2 Replies to “Wishful thinking”

  1. Pitbulls get such a bad rap. It’s all in how you raise and train them. I have three kids and she is like their older sister. She even lets my youngest (21 months old) ride her back, pull her tail, and she sits there and still give him kisses. Love the picture.

Leave a Reply

